Pathetic Fallacy

You know, if anyone on my creative writing course had turned in a plot like the last few months we’ve had, they’d have been jumped on:

‘OK, I see what you’re doing with the narrator waking on the morning of the election and there’s snow everywhere, but I think you’re over-egging it. And besides, it’s November. It’s hardly going to snow in November.’

‘Besides, you know there are just too many elections in the book. I mean, it’s getting a bit samey: the Scottish one, and then the general election, and then Britain going out of the EU …’

‘… which was kind of testing our suspension of disbelief anyway …’

‘… and then having someone like Trump running for president, I mean I know it’s satire, but you’ve got to keep it within the realms of the possible …’

‘… but I just keep coming back to the snow. Even if you accept that people would actually be that stupid as to vote for the guy, having it snow in November is too much. I mean, come on…’

Still, in my experience, the Weather Gods can be relied on never to miss the opportunity to overdo things…

hazel bush weighed down by snow

Hazel bush bowed down by the weight of snow. Just too bloody perfect a metaphor

I have nothing to add to all that has been written and said and all that will be written and said about the American election. They say the darkest hour is just before dawn, so perhaps some good will come out of it. Or perhaps things will just go on getting darker. Ever since Brexit my inclination has been to turn inwards: to concentrate on the things that I can do something about and let the rest of the world go to hang. Cycle campaigning I can do. Saving the world is beyond my paygrade. And I’ll take what comfort where I can…

So today has been a day for knitting, hanging curtains and installing smoke alarms. The latter feels especially necessary.

egg cosy

6 Responses to Pathetic Fallacy

  1. I told my daughter that exact same darkest before dawn phrase last night, right after the election. And I totally agree about the 2016 overkill. But, you know what, I think we’re bouncing off the bottom now. Going to be some ups and downs, of course. Probably a lot of downs. sigh.

    But I think the general trajectory is going to be upward from here. I don’t even want to imagine what could be next, and the year is almost over. So, hopefully, we just leave 2016 behind like a bad memory and find some way to mitigate the fallout.

  2. disgruntled says:

    I hope you’re right … I worry about the Paris climate treaty though (and all my American friends and family)

  3. Charles says:

    It’s never as bad or good as you think. Trump is not the dream result but I have a suspicion that Clinton was not anyone’s night in shining armour. Look at it like Brexit, the gift that keeps on giving, nothing has happened but Cameron and Osbourne gone, Liberals and Labour in chaos, tories gibbering like rabbits, its marvellous. Some seriously dodgy people in the EU are worried, people want to vote, it’s all rather fun. I have not enjoyed the discomfiture of people who try to tell me what to do for ages. This us the era of people getting involved and changing things. Propose Bigtown has a car free centre and see what happens!

    • Jane says:

      That’s very well said. Whatever else it’s been, 2016 has been a year in which the establishment – UK, EU and now US – has been given a good kicking, long overdue. That in itself is worth celebrating. I’m not the only one to have noticed that all the hand-wringing and face-clasping is coming from the comfortable middle classes that thrive off a settled political picture.

      • I don’t know about the UK or EU, but the US hasn’t had a comfortable middle class since 2008. W and company destroyed it in the crash and it hasn’t come back yet.

        The last 8 years had us only inching our way toward it, but since Obama chose his economic advisors from the very men who caused the crash, it wasn’t going to happen soon. The banks that were too big to fail are now bigger than ever and no one was punished for bringing our country to its knees.

        As I just said on Twitter, I think Trump is f***ing monster. However, if he manages to get a Republican Congress to replace the mediocre Dodd-Frank with the original Glass-Steagall – whose repeal was, in great part, responsible for the crash – then he will have done a truly great deed for the country.

        But I’m not holding my breath. The Republican Congress is actually more dangerous than Trump, and all of them together are now putting at risk not the most comfortable white people who elected him, but all of the most vulnerable people in our society.

        Everyone who is not a healthy straight white person is now at risk. And females are not far behind. As a straight white woman, I am fairly safe, but I loathe what is already happening. Gays, people of color and non-Christian faiths are being brutally beaten by white men, young and old, because they believe they now have permission and approval to do so. And this is just the first two days.

        The Ku Klux Klan is partying openly in the streets. We are returning to a 50s mentality, full white supremacy. Not like it wasn’t already ugly, but now it’s going to get worse.

        That’s why we are wringing our hands. And crying.

  4. Charles says:

    Night as in knight

Leave a Reply

