Turning Left

road left

I had occasion to visit our new Nearest Village this morning. As I turned left out of our road end, it occurred to me how infrequently I do this. Since moving, almost every bike ride I’ve done has involved turning right, down towards Bigtown. The odd bit of gadding about around Scotland aside, I have basically been wearing even more of a groove with the bike than I did before, when at least I had two regular routes instead of one. I’m generally a creature of habit, but this is getting a bit boring even for me.

I’m not usually one for New Year’s resolutions (apart from the one about not starting any new cycle campaigns, which I normally manage to keep for at least three months into the year) but this year I thought I might at least shake things up a bit. Nothing so formal as a resolution, but let it be known here* that I shall aim for at least one mini adventure, where by ‘adventure’ I mean ‘going somewhere new by bike’ in a way that involves at the very least getting the old Ordnance Surveys out and possibly even getting lost.

Largely this will mean turning left – to explore the roads north and west of here, roads which I’ve done very little cycling on in the past because it’s all been a little bit out of reach. So this should be the opportunity to take advantage of the move and see what new and exciting places I can discover.

Time permitting, of course …

* I had thought that publicly stating such intentions was a good way of holding oneself accountable, but according to the ever-erudite City Cycling Edinburgh forum, in fact it can be counterproductive as that way you get the pleasure of approbation for just saying you’ll do something and don’t bother to follow through. So you’ll just have to hold me to account here yourselves, if you want any vicarious adventuring

12 Responses to Turning Left

  1. Steph Keane says:

    I love your musings! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Robert Littlewood says:

    Obviously you will need a new bike to accomplish this.

  3. […] when I blogged yesterday about a monthly adventure, I was thinking that the end of January is quite some time away and I didn’t need to worry […]

  4. […] that it then seems a bit feeble to have almost reached the end of February and not even managed my one modest adventuring ambition for the month. But fortunately Back on my Bike & I had a spare* morning before our train home, […]

  5. […] the problem is I had resolved to try a new route on the bike every month this year, and somehow it’s already the last day in March. And all I […]

  6. […] zones in our lives, both Back on my Bike and I have been separately trying to go on at least one small adventure a month this year. This month, we hatched a plan that involved meeting her and a fellow cycling pal […]

  7. […] regular readers of this blog know I’ve been trying to get out at least once a month and do a ride which takes me somewhat out of my comfort zone. As I hinted in my last blog, I had […]

  8. […] it when plan and the weather forecast come together. As regular readers will know I am trying to do a new route on my bike each month so I was interested to note another garden was due to open this weekend – not too […]

  9. […] order to fulfil my own daft microadventure rules, we also had to ride a new-to-me route – starting out along the route of my last adventure, […]

  10. […] you’d think that cycling somewhere new would be pretty easy this month, seeing as we actually are somewhere different and we remembered to […]

  11. […] all means that I have absolutely no excuse not to fulfil my other New Year’s resolution and head off on my month’s micro adventure. The problem was where to go – I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

