Out with the Old

We had one last task left over from 2016 this afternoon – finishing up at the old plot and clearing out the greenhouse.

We weren’t the only ones doing a bit of clearing up – as we approached the gate, a buzzard flew out of the walled garden and when we got in there we found out why. Just be thankful that I decided there was no tasteful way to photograph what was effectively the top third of a rabbit. Too late for most of my veg, unfortunately.

clearing out kale plants

We came away with the last leeks, a few token kale leaves and broccoli sprouts, and a bag full of chilies.

And that’s all, folks.

empty greenhouse

2017 will be all about the new veg plot, a fruit cage, and hopefully finding a replacement greenhouse. I cycle past an empty one every time I go into Bigtown which is slowly falling into decrepitude. One day I may have to stop and make them an offer…

road ahead

No reason for this photograph, except I liked it

7 Responses to Out with the Old

  1. Empty greenhouses look sad. Yo may find the only offer you need to make is to take it off their hands…

  2. disgruntled says:

    I’m waiting till I see someone out in the garden so I can ask …

  3. Maybe they can’t get into the garden any more 😦

  4. Charles says:

    I am impressed that you had any chillis. Mine were all killed in the mini Somerset winter at the start of December when we had a few days on the trot below zero. I see your old greenhouse is larger than mine, that may be the reason, or the fact that it’s a lean to, so maybe has better insulation from the wall.

    Blowing a gale and raining down here so I might put some parsley to work in David greenhouse. I am now going to have to go out and buy some chillis something I have not had to do for the past 6 months. I was going to freeze some but the frost got there first….

    Sweet peas will go in as soon as I can get my hands on some. I find planting things makes me feel that spring is round the corner. Also I have a Christmas garden voucher to invest!

  5. Charles says:

    What is a David greenhouse? Blame Trumps spelling elves again.

  6. disgruntled says:

    We find the chillies dry pretty well, so we’ve got loads hanging in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

