Unearthing

lumpy grass

In a lumpy-looking corner of the garden, I unearth a bit of buried treasure…

old railway sleeper

… oh, okay, only a few lengths of what look like railway sleepers, but they’re always handy to have in the garden, especially if your aesthetic tends towards ‘allotment chic’.

piles of stuff

After a bit more investigating, I discover that the other lumps aren’t quite so useful – a bunch of old stumps and some landscaping fabric which now has rather a lot of the actual landscape attached to it (anyone who believes in the long-term weed suppressing properties of landscaping fabric – or, indeed, anything up to and including concrete – hasn’t met a proper weed, in my opinion).

pile of landscaping fabric

So I did what presumably the previous owners had done, and made a pile until I could deal with things properly. Unlike them, I will hopefully manage to deal with it before it merges back into the landscape again. Although having gone through my emails and looked at my rapidly filling calendar, I am not counting on it.

In other news, I’m off on my travels again – anyone here of the female cycling persuasion who fancies meeting up in Perth?

2 Responses to Unearthing

  1. Flighty says:

    I’m all for allotment chic in moderation. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    Ha! I think it’s what happens when you garden too much in moderation…

Leave a Reply

