The Augean Chicken Shed

I think I may have mentioned that when the previous owners of the house moved out, there were a few things they left behind, including the rather unsalubrious interior of their chicken shed*

shed interior

We’ve been gradually clearing out that corner of the garden, as the likely site of our fruit cage and ultimately a greenhouse. Either way, the shed is for the chop. The other half’s suggestion was that we just douse it in petrol and throw in a match, but I was determined to make use of all that organic matter. So today, being just barely above freezing, but otherwise a lovely day, it seemed like a good opportunity to clean it out without being too overwhelmed by the smell.

There’s not much to say, really, about shovelling chicken shit. It wasn’t as unpleasant a task as it would have been in the height of summer; in fact most of it was well on its way to being compost already. I lost count of how many barrowloads it was, but our (350 litre) compost dalek, which I’d emptied to add to the planned veg plot, is now full again. And I did retrieve (and clean up) that spade …

piled up chicken manure

I’m still sad for the chickens who had to live in it, although at least the nest boxes had fresh shavings in them, which have also gone into the compost. I think I may need to take it all out of the dalek and mix it up more thoroughly, but that can wait. I feel like I’ve dealt with enough crap for one day.

So now it’s just a matter of getting rid of the shed. Nearest Village’s hyperlocal freecycle group has had someone looking for a shed of ‘any size and any condition’ for almost a year now, and I have passed on a message that we have one that’s very much of ‘any condition’ if they want to come and get it. Whether it can be actually disassembled and usefully reassembled into anything resembling a shed remains to be seen. It may be the petrol and the match after all.

* sans chickens, but not, as I discovered this afternoon, entirely sans eggs. Given the amount of time since it had likely been laid, I transferred it with extreme gingerliness to the compost bin …

5 Responses to The Augean Chicken Shed

  1. Wonderful compost there!! You know, you could break apart and reassemble that shed as use it as a greenhouse…. just a thought.

  2. Flighty says:

    Your footnote made me smile, and I don’t blame you for not cooking it for breafast. xx

  3. disgruntled says:

    @rusticpath – I did wonder about that, but looking at the shed, I don’t think it would survive the transformation
    @Flighty – I wasn’t going to even risk touching it! Went on the end of a long shovel…

  4. welshcyclist says:

    That’s the way to do it!

  5. chicken coop says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off,
    I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Many
    thanks!

Leave a Reply

