Drilling Down

I think I may have mentioned that our attic was previously insulated by someone who was in no way shape or form a completer finisher, and we’ve been working on rectifying that, spurred on by the combination of electric heating and a smart meter which tends to concentrate the mind wonderfully.

Although, that said, progress has still been slow. We did the easy bits, and redistributed all of the loose insulation that was just sitting around in the attic into the gaps between the rafters along the side of the house, which was straightforward enough if I didn’t mind spending a lot of time inching along on my elbows trying not to breathe in too much insulation fibre and/or mouse poo.

Then we thought we’d do the other apparently easy bit, which was to top up the insulation in the apex of the roof which looks like this:

attic space

For reference, that’s just tall enough for me to wriggle into, but not get up onto my hands and knees, so it’s back to the commando crawling.

That seemed like a straightforward enough job: another layer of mineral wool over the top of the rafters. Unforutnately, in practice it has been one of those projects that a colleague of mine used to refer to as climbing the bug tree: in order to get to the point where you fix the problem (not enough insulation), first you have to fix all the other problems which are in the way: no loft boards to crawl on to get the insulation down there, loft hatch too small to get spare loft boards up into the attic space, designated loft insulator (me) having a small panic when she got up into the attic space and then realised how impossible it was to move around with just two planks to balance on and couldn’t work out how to get out again. So, once I’d extricated myself from the attic without the assistance of the fire brigade, we went and bought some more loft boards with the plan of creating a nice crawl path down the middle, firmly screwed down, so I could work a bit more comfortably.

So then the next problem was cutting down the loft boards to a size where they spanned an integer number of rafters and still fit the gap, which would be easier if all of our rafters didn’t appear to be a different distance apart (naturally, whoever installed the first layer of insulation ignored this so there’s a gap of about 10cm in the middle but hey, that’s about par for the course for this house). Then I had to start screwing the loft boards down, which is where things began to come unstuck. Whenever I do a job like this I am confronted by the fact that I am quite extraordinarily unhandy. It doesn’t help that I’m left handed, nor that I never learned how to do these things at school, nor that I am actually not strong enough to hold up the other half’s super duper Makita power tools with one hand, making it difficult to hold down the loft board with the other. Nor indeed that I was trying to do it while lying on my front in a space you wouldn’t keep a chicken in, by the light of a small torch. I think I managed two and a half boards before the increasingly inventive swearing drifting down through the loft hatch alerted the other half to the fact that things were not going well. I could no longer hold the drill straight and steady enough to get the screw into the board, let alone screw it down onto the rafter, and I was ready to throw in the towel, followed by the screw, drill, loft boards and torch, directly into the nearest pond. Time to take a break.

Hopefully, in a day or two my arms will have recovered enough to get a few more boards down, but this is looking like a looong job – and that was the easy part. Still, looking on the bright side, I can now get in and, more importantly, out of the attic without freaking out.

Remind me why it’s so much better to own your own home again?

4 Responses to Drilling Down

  1. ballsofwool says:

    Firstly, Don’t worry, All houses are like this.
    Secondly, before tackling any more of the dreaded DIY, treat yourself to a super-duper workman’s torch, one of them that’s easy to carry one-handed but that also sits nicely when you put it down. It’ll be really handy for everything from slughunting to bike maintenance in the shed on dull rainy days.
    Good luck!

  2. Viviane says:

    As someone not very handy but living alone, I would say : headlamp saved my life more than once, and also, why don’t you nail the boards instead of drilling ? (just saying)

  3. Charles says:

    Drill holes in the boards when they are downstairs then take them up and screw them down. Slower but easier.

Leave a Reply

