Any Ford in a Storm

A visit to my parents this weekend gave us a chance to reunite the Brompton with a comrade in arms.

Brompton and Paperbike

My parents had gone to visit friends of theirs in the next village along, so we pedalled out to join them for a cup of coffee and to swap tips on gardening (they’ve been using old carpets on their veg bed for 30 years and it’s not done them any harm), sci fi (they were very keen on the Martian, although mainly from the potato growing angle) and linux distributions (no idea – when I want a hobby instead of an operating system, I will put linux on my laptop).

The route there takes you past a ford, although what use a ford is without a measuring gauge, I don’t know.

Ford near Duns

Still, for those of you getting ford withdrawal symptoms, I post this here for what it’s worth.

4 Responses to Any Ford in a Storm

  1. Anonymous says:

    Is that the paper bike?

  2. Charles says:

    Looks like a substantial amount of cold steel to me.

  3. The Martian has to be one of the top vegetable gardener’s films

  4. disgruntled says:

    @Anon and Charles – you’re both right; it is the Paper Bike and it is a substantial chunk of metal.
    @reclaiming paradise – this was the book, but I think the same applies

Leave a Reply

