Half Cut

One of the plants we inherited in the garden is a corkscrew hazel. Or rather, a corkscrewish hazel, because over the years, the non-corkscrewing bit has clearly been allowed to grow and has started to take over.

corkscrew hazel

I was in two minds about what to do about this. If you want to keep the corkscrew form, you need to cut out the straight growth. On the whole, I wasn’t much of a fan of these contorted forms and a proper coppice that produced actual hazelnuts might have been preferable, so I was considering just leaving it. But I’ve since been hatching a plan to produce a hare-proof edge for my new vegetable plot and some hazel stakes and sticks wouldn’t go amiss as part of that plan. And clearly, straight stakes are preferable to corkscrew ones, so that made my mind up: the normal growth was for the chop.

corkscrew hazel after pruning

Actually, now that it’s been cut, I’m beginning to see the appeal

hazel sticks

I have a cunning plan for these, watch this space

And we have exciting* piles of sticks for use in the hare-defences.

Other interlopers will not be as easily repelled

ground elder

Aaargh

* In the very specific meaning of the word ‘exciting’ as used in this blog

6 Responses to Half Cut

  1. Ollyver says:

    The very specific meaning of the word ‘exciting’ as used in this blog corresponds well to my own definition. Entertaining post as ever.

  2. Charles says:

    Piles of freshly cut sticks have tremendous potential. When I took out a bamboo last year it gave me the framework for the netting that protects my salad as well as the measuring stick for my oil tank, the automatic gauge being as reliable as Donald Trump.

    I have not get as far as making my own twine from hazel bark, maybe a project for the future?

  3. disgruntled says:

    You can also make string out of nettles … Unfortunately sticking freshly cut sticks into the ground at this time of year is likely to result in trees …

  4. […] veg plot now has proto hare-defences, created out of the hazel sticks and some willow that we cut back earlier in the year. In my head, this was going to be one of […]

Leave a Reply

