The Best* Thing About Having a Birthday

… is the resulting stack of to-be-read books by the bed

bedtime reading

I remember as a small child being quizzed about my birthday presents by an adult who didn’t know me very well. After I’d listed all the books I’d been given she asked, ‘but what else did you get? Didn’t you get any dolls?’

It took her about five repetitions to get the question across, because I had no idea what she was talking about (I kept hearing ‘bells’, which was only slightly more baffling to the six-year-old me than ‘dolls’) and had no conception that you might want anything more than books. If only she’d said ‘killer whale vertebra’ I’d have grasped her meaning much faster.

My birthday wishes have widened somewhat over the years, but even now, the prospect of having not just something, but a whole stack of books to read is an unalloyed pleasure, even if I’m not entirely sure when I will have the time to devour them all.

Equally delightful is a replacement apocalypse proof jacket from the other half, although on the whole I’d prefer not to put either its rain proofing or its apocalypse proofing to the test…

*Oh, okay, the best thing is cake for breakfast in bed. But this is the next best.

6 Responses to The Best* Thing About Having a Birthday

  1. Atul Gawande’s book is very good.

  2. Anne says:

    Happy birthday! 2 sweeties, for nostalgia’s sake…

  3. Flighty says:

    I agree. I always asked for books, or book tokens, for my birthdays. xx

  4. ballsofwool says:

    Happy bookworm Birthday !!

  5. WOL says:

    Many happy returns of the day. Learning to read was the greatest thing that ever happened to me, so getting a pile of books for your birthday is my kind of great birthday gift. Hope they’re all gripping reads.

Leave a Reply

