Some Politics is More Local than Others

As my twitter timeline went into meltdown over the triggering of Article 50, I was busy concentrating on some rather more local politics. For today was not just momentous/disastrous (delete as applicable silently in your head and don’t feel you have to tell me in the comments) for Brexit, it was also the day nominations closed for the Scottish local elections, blowing the starting whistle on the Walk Cycle Vote campaign.

So today has mostly been spent starting to get a mass of unruly data into something that will ultimately become our candidate database – and marvelling at the vagaries of local politics. This, it appears, gets progressively more idiosyncratic the further you are from the centre, with some of the outlying parts of Scotland eschewing party politics altogether, and others featuring a bewildering array of independents (if anyone would like to explain to me the difference between aligned and unaligned independents I’d be grateful). Interestingly, while some council wards are hotly contested, with ten or more candidates battling it out for just three seats, in others candidates have already been elected unopposed. I hope you’re happy with the coonsil, people of South Kintyre, because you aren’t going to get a chance to tell your candidates at the ballot box this time around. Shame it’s too late to get a Cycling Party together in time for the nominations.

And, talking of rotten boroughs, today was an even more momentous day in local politics as someone has finally come forward to be secretary of Old Nearest Village community council. Oh frabjuous day. I don’t know her, but she knows me – for as I rang her up to seal the deal before she got cold feet, she asked me if I’d been out on my bike on such a grim day. Clearly my reputation precedes me …

3 Responses to Some Politics is More Local than Others

  1. Charles says:

    Now you are out of the local frying pan what fire are you about to leap into?

  2. Autolycus says:

    I think I understand the difference between aligned and unaligned independents. Did you know the tale of the Scottish castaway who was found to have built all sorts of buildings for all his needs, including a little kirk? When the officers on the ship that found him pointed to another building he hadn’t mentioned, he said “Oh, that’s the kirk I don’t go to”.

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Charles, hopefully nothing but I wouldn’t count on it!
    @Autolycus – ha! The coonsil here actually have four different types of independents …

Leave a Reply

