Facts in the Ground

Well, I don’t technically have enough time for gardening, but then again, I don’t have enough time to go insane either, so a bit of prophylactic horticultural therapy seemed in order. And besides, gardening has to be done when it has to be done, so if I was going to grow any veg at all this year, I had to get planting

seeds in modules

Seeds in the ground. Well, in pots anyway

So broad beans, peas, beetroot and leeks planted, because that was what my gardening pals had left over or what was still in date in my seed stash. Beans, kale, broccoli and squash still to come. I look back fondly on the days when I carefully planned out my seed order and rotation strategy…

Fork in the ground

Fork in the ground. Actually the soil is pretty good, albeit 50% willowherb root by volume

And I reasoned that digging this bed over now and then planting some actual plants in it would be less time consuming in the long run than trying to keep on top of the nettles, willowherb and brambles that were in it last year (this actually makes for quite an impressive display, but I don’t think Chelsea will ever come around to that). It means breaking the habit of a lifetime and going and splashing money out on plants, rather than seeds, but I have garden vouchers …

And now, back to the campaigning coal face.

2 Responses to Facts in the Ground

  1. Charles says:

    Oddly enough in Somerset it is not rabbits or pigeons that are the problem but flocks of sparrows. Brown cute and noisy, under their seemingly harmless twittering they hide a ferocious appetite for healthy young greens. Beetroot, eaten almost before it had emerged, spinach ditto, the lettuce nearly went too until I put up some protection. Oddly they have no interest in radishes, onions or carrots, maybe they are related to Popeye?

    Potatoes are very good for clearing overgrown plots as a) the act of earthing them up digs out weeds and b) their foliage covers the ground smothering the weeds. You can also eat them although opinion in this house is that any spud that is not a chip has been wasted. Well I like a potato salad or a roast spud but management and the offspring have firm views.

    It rained for the first time in two weeks last night so I am going to weed and feed the lawn, once my back has warmed up.

    It’s all go in Somerset.

  2. ballsofwool says:

    I could’ve sworn I saw at least one (deliberate) nettle at Chelsea last year.

Leave a Reply

