Call me a Fair Weather Cyclist …

… but I cannot deny that my bike becomes a whole lot more appealing means of transport when the rain stops

Fair weather road

June has been a bit too Octoberish for my liking recently, but this afternoon the clouds thinned, the wind dropped, the air warmed up and I even took my gloves off

Add in the fact that the hedgerows are full of birds who haven’t quite taken their L-plates off yet, so are often still fluttering about around me as I pass, and of course the hares, and suddenly spending time on my bike becomes a positive delight, rather than the virtuous chore it can frankly be when it is bucketing it down.

Oddly enough, the sunshine doesn’t just make rural roads more pleasant to ride on. Even my least favourite bits of today’s cycling – getting into the Tesco carpark, the roundabout-of-doom where I swear I will meet my end one day, even the hill home – they all seemed so much more doable somehow, although the last one might have been the tail wind.

As a result, I am rashly planning a little mini adventure on my way up to Embra tomorrow. More anon. If I’m spared …

3 Responses to Call me a Fair Weather Cyclist …

  1. I love these wee glimpses into your life and the humour that you apply liberally to the rubbish stuff that we who try to cycle for transport, not just for fun, have to deal with in Scotland whether it be road conditions so bad they are laughable or the folly of cycling in the Scottish climate.

  2. welshcyclist says:

    I got up this morning to my better half stating “You’re not going on your bike, it’s raining”, but as I got ready to go to physio, the sun came out, so I got on my bike. Great round trip ride!

  3. disgruntled says:

    @TWC – thank you!
    @welshCyclist – I hope the physiowas impressed

Leave a Reply

