Summer Comes but Once a Year

Sometimes Twitter gets it bang on

As is traditional when we get a couple of days’ sunshine, I am currently stuck under a pile of All The Work, so I’ve mostly had to just sit and watch it out of my study window, but I did have an afternoon appointment in town.

summer clouds

You honestly couldn’t pay me to drive on a day like today, because it was my only real chance to enjoy the sunshine.

On my way in I encountered a friend, a photographer, who has started this little project on Facebook. After chatting for a while, she offered to add me to the roster of ‘humans’ and took my photo there and then,* and then we went on our way

It was only as I was riding home again later in the afternoon, that it struck me how fortunate we are to live in a place where one can have a brief photo shoot in the middle of the road, and not be interrupted by a single vehicle, and not even think it remarkable.

summer reflections

It scrubs up quite well when the sun shines, too.

* As I have to write a few words before it gets put up, I may not be appearing there for a while

3 Responses to Summer Comes but Once a Year

  1. WOL says:

    Here in TX panhandle, we average 264 sunny days a year and get 18 inches (45.24 cm) of rain per year. We will gladly trade sun for rain.

  2. disgruntled says:

    As soon as we can work out how to package it up, it’s on its way

  3. RobbyeFaye says:

    Beautiful picture! I love how the clouds are reflected in the stlll water!

Leave a Reply

