Wetter than Wet

I was woken this morning by the sound of the rain on the skylight above our bed, a sound which is more soothing when you’ve not got a fun family ride planned for the afternoon. The forecast spent the day varying between ‘apocalyptic’ and ‘plague of frogs’ before settling on thundery showers. But then, as the time came to set off for Bigtown on the bike, the rain had stopped, the wind was at my back and it was all looking very …

storm clouds

… well, threatening, if I’m honest.

rainy riverfront

And by the time I had got to Bigtown it had stopped making threats and was concentrating on fulfilling them.

rainy river

After 20 minute or so sheltering under a tree with the few mad souls who had also shown up, talking about the various interesting ways lightning can kill you and discussing whether the distant patch of brightness off to the east signalled a let up in the rain (it didn’t) the thunder started in earnest and we decided to call it a day. The only problem was, I still had 8 miles of cycling to get home. I could have stopped off for a warming cup of tea with one of my fellow nutters, but the forecast was for more to come and I decided that I’d rather spend the next 40 minutes getting miserably wet and then getting dry, than spend them sitting around in damp things and then having to go out in it anyway.

You know how you think ‘well, at least I can’t get any wetter’ once you’ve been out in the rain? Well I’m here to tell you that you actually can, especially when the roads have become rivers and half the junctions have become giant puddles and nothing – with the exception of your magical Harris tweed cap – is proving properly Waterproof In Scotland. There’s wet, and then there’s the realisation (once you get home and are carting your clothes up to the bathroom to dry off) that you’ve just lugged an additional 3 litres of water up the hill in your socks alone.

There was a moment, as I battered through the water sluicing across the road beneath my wheels, the cows watching me pityingly from under the trees where they had taken shelter, when the thought did occur to me that the ford would be pretty impressive right now. I’m sure a dedicated blogger would have gone and looked.

That blogger is not me.

4 Responses to Wetter than Wet

  1. cripleh says:

    I made the error of going to pick up two lamps I’d ordered from Argos in Carlisle. The car park had actually flooded meaning I was forced to walk around the very edge. Somebody was actually sweeping water out of the doorway of Next Home store.

    The rain really started to tank down once I was back outside with two large lamps in cardboard boxes over my shoulders.

    I suppose it wasn’t an eight mile bike ride back though.

  2. welshcyclist says:

    Fantastic, thunder, lightning, deluge, what more can you possibly want. Rain ain’t pain! Cheers

  3. disgruntled says:

    Rain is best experienced when you’re not in it, in my opinion! I know I live in the wrong place then

  4. subversivite says:

    This did actually make me laugh out loud, twice. Serious respect to Harris tweed though

Leave a Reply

