The Return of Moo-I-5

Just after we moved in, now over a year ago, we were pleased to wake one morning to discover we had some new neighbours – the cows, soon dubbed Moo-I-5 for their habit of watching our every move.

cow next to ash sapling

Our first sight of the cows next door …

The downside of cows-for-neighbours, we were soon to discover was that everything withing cow-reach promptly became cow-lunch. This included a little ash sapling that had established itself right on the fence.

ash and cow annotated

That first picture wasn’t very clear, so I have annotated it

And was shortly reduced to a stick.

ash stick

And if you’re thinking, well at least its got a few leaves left, they went the next day

That, we thought, was the end of that, which is a shame because we like trees and ash are great for firewood and it might have provided a bit of shelter from the prevailing westerly winds. Anyway, time passed and the cows went off to pastures new, and we noticed that the ash sapling was not actually dead (why this should come as a surprise I’m not quite sure as all the other ash saplings which weren’t in quite such a suitable location and had been cut down were also resprouting, but the cows had done a pretty thorough job of chewing it down)

ash resprouting

I’m afraid, I’m a sucker for anything that survives against the odds, even an ash tree that is technically a weed, so I stuck a tree tube on it and awaited the return of the cows …

ash in tree tube

They were a bit later this year than last but pretty soon we had a black and white audience watching over the fence when we ventured outside …

cow attacking tree tube

… and having a good go at the tree when they figured we weren’t looking

So far, the tree tube has held out against a fairly determined onslaught (they appear to be attempting to lick it to death) but watch this space.

OK, so it’s not exactly the ford, but it will have to do.

 

7 Responses to The Return of Moo-I-5

  1. Elizabeth Rich says:

    I await further developments.

    ESR Harbour Grace

    >

  2. disgruntled says:

    Still there this morning

  3. Charles says:

    I read a report of an unfortunate fisherman who parked in a field of cows. When he returned he found that the cows had licked the paint off the car. Rather powerful tongues, those cows.

  4. […] I thought that the cow vs tree saga might have come to a premature end when the local farmer moved a bunch of beasts* down the road, […]

  5. I loved this and the follow up post, especially the photos and diagrams! I’ve recklessly nominated you for an award. Paying forward my own nomination to those that have made me giggle/think/filled my heart. You can ignore it, accept it quietly and graciously, or throw a party and show off 🙂 Either way, tis done and forgive that I’m commenting with these exact same words on my other nominations as I can’t find a better way of putting it! https://thelockwoodecho.com/2017/09/04/blogger-recognition-award/

Leave a Reply

