Emerging …

rhubarb shoots

It’s probably way too early to get excited about this – what with the bulk of the winter still to go – but it turns out that if you want to murder rhubarb, dismembering it with a mattock and burying it alive in horseshit is not particularly effective.

rhubarb shoots

We won’t be able to harvest it until next year, but as I suspect 2019 will be one of those ‘take your good news where you can find it’ years (see also, 2016, 2017, 2018) I’m posting this now before it has a chance to go pearshaped.

rhubarb shoots

Asparagus next …

3 Responses to Emerging …

  1. Flighty says:

    It’s always good to see rhubarb appearing. If it grows well I’d be temped to pick a few stems. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    @Flighty – yes, maybe! I may have planted too many crowns too – I wasn’t expecting them all to survive

  3. Charles says:

    My rhubarb is up as well. However yesterday I saw my first daffodil which is the earliest I can recall. Now sit down and brace yourself – my asparagus started to sprout in mid December. Mind you it is now looking very cold!

    I planted two year old crowns last spring so in theory this is year three, I might even get a meal….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.