When N+1 meets S-1*

Chatting with a fellow cyclist this afternoon about the indestructibility of the older cyclist and other matters, he told me he’d been in his local bike shop the other day and was admiring a very fancy bike (electronic gear shifters, carbon, the works) when an old boy came in and claimed it as his.

It turns out that this chap had bought the bike a few months ago and not yet managed to pluck up the courage to tell his wife. So he was heading out on his old bike for a ride, all innocence, then swapping it for the shiny new steed which he was keeping safely out of sight in the shop…

Suddenly the algebra of cyclo-maths has got just that little bit more complicated

* N+1 is the ideal number of bikes for a cyclist, where N is the number of bikes the cyclist already owns up to S-1, where S is the number of bikes at which point the cyclist’s spouse leaves them…

7 Responses to When N+1 meets S-1*

  1. Bob says:

    You know, I think I could relate to that conundrum. I’ve often looked longingly at fold up bikes, and I’m afraid at this point in my life, it would have to be a Brompton. Then…I’d have to get one for me wife.
    Oh dear.

  2. Flighty says:

    I get the feeling that would make a good short story! xx

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Bob – ah but a Brompton you can hide anywhere!
    @Flighty – so it would *thinks*

  4. […] the equation balanced. When N+1 meets S-1* The ideal number of bikes is when N+1 is equal to S-1. And I ask you to read the link instead of […]

  5. Anonymous says:

    Hehe, funny story. 🙂

  6. stcleve says:

    Made me laugh, a great story in part 2 you’ve got to reveal the identity….or drop some heavy clues. This cyclist needs to be fully ribbed this summer. Lol

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.