Spit or Swallow

The first summer we had up here, I went to great lengths to cycle with my mouth shut to avoid inhaling any flies, which is harder than it sounds when a) there are hills and b) you talk as much as I do.

The second summer we had up here I found myself spending a lot of time hacking and choking in a desperate attempt to get rid of the flies I had inhaled before they went down one way or the other.

This summer? I’m just swallowing them and hoping they’re not wasps. Saves a lot of time and effort and makes you sound less like a cat with a hair ball.

And next year? Next year I’ll probably be heading out for a quick pedal round the block in the evenings to ensure I get my quota of delicious flying protein in. Either that, or I’ll have turned into a lizard.

What do you do?

10 Responses to Spit or Swallow

  1. Mikeachim says:

    Firstly. Your title? Good SEO. Your traffic is going to go nuts. (And the demographic may be *very* specific, just to warn you).

    Inhaling the local wildlife, yes, a vile challenge every year. Breathing in through the side of the mouth? Flaring the nostrils and hoping something large won’t suddenly plug one of them (which is much worse than swallowing something)?

    After inhaling a bee a few years ago, I have little choice – it’s nostrils or die. Too twitchy about trying anything else.

  2. disgruntled says:

    hehe – had to do something about my stats…

    A bee? ouch.

  3. Are we taking bets on you changing the title of this post?

  4. 2whls3spds says:

    Grit your teeth and breathe through them? I have gotten my fair share of fly protein and I swear at least 1/2 of someone else’s in my years of riding. I suppose you could wear a mask of some sort during peak season, but they have their own set of issues.

    Aaron

  5. Dom says:

    Walking, rather than cycling, but I have a gauntlet of midges to run on my walk home from work every weekday. You’d think by now I’d have learned to close my mouth at that point in the journey, but no, I’m usually reminded too late after swallowing at least one of them.

  6. disgruntled says:

    Mrs UHDD – it was entirely deliberate, although I may get cold feet if the google searches go wierd on me
    Aaron – can’t be doing with masks, they just make me feel claustrophobic. So far I haven’t come to any harm
    Dom – ah, there’s no excuse for having your mouth open when you’re walking. Might as well cycle…

  7. […] reduces the number and severity of bike collisions with big trucks. When you suck in a fly, do you spit or swallow? Frida Kahlo rides a bike. A positive review for DIY sharrows in British Columbia. Wear your […]

  8. Mechazawa says:

    try making a home made mesh mash or a window screen mask to stay fly free.

  9. disgruntled says:

    To be honest, it’s stopped bothering me. At least until I get a wasp or a bee…

  10. […] Flies on Me I don’t know if this is revenge on my earlier post, but we certainly seemed to be more plagued by flies than usual this year. It’s actually not […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.