Stone the Crows

A neighbour rang (no, not that neigbour) to ask if I would do her a favour – collect her eggs while she was away during the day this week. I didn’t need to feed her hens, or clear out the hen house, or even give her any of the eggs – she just wanted them collected. The problem, you see, is that the crows around her have learnt that hen houses contain tasty treats and have taken to following the hens in and pinching the eggs. So all I had to do was nip in when the hens had done their business, as it were, and get the eggs before the crows did. She reckoned that would be around 12:30 or so

Sounds simple, no? Well that’s before accounting for the fact that crows are fairly bright and we are – well, it turns out, a bit poor at time keeping these days. Normally being a few houses up the road at a particular time every day during the week would be no problem, but this week I happened to be fairly busy and couldn’t quite make it on the dot of 12:30. To be honest, I didn’t realise crows could tell the time quite so accurately. Or maybe they just count the number of times the hens go in looking pensive and come out looking relieved and choose their moment to strike. Either way, the score for the week is crows 2 and humans 3, although I’m not convinced the crows didn’t sneak in and pinch one on Thursday…

Still, the upshot is that we have a nice stockpile of freshly laid eggs, albeit not as big a one as it might have been. Frittata tonight, I think. And poached eggs with everything for a while…

8 Responses to Stone the Crows

  1. John Gibson says:

    Thanks, a really nice post. we had some guinea fowle eggs that my wifes boss give to us, but I mixed them with chicken eggs to make an Omelette, so I still don’t know what they taste like.
    John

  2. disgruntled says:

    we had omelette too in the end. Would like to try guinea fowl eggs, as I’ve rather a soft spot for them

  3. WOL says:

    Poached eggs on toast. . . French toast. . .fried egg sandwiches with bacon. . .nuts, now I’m hungry.

  4. disgruntled says:

    hehe – sorry about that

  5. Anonymous says:

    You may have underestimated a crow’s cunning – have you seen how urban Japanese crows

  6. Clare says:

    Let’s try that again: You may have underestimated a crow’s cunning – have you seen how urban Japanese crows crack nuts?: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGPGknpq3e0
    I wanted to make that into a link but failed 😦

  7. Clare says:

    Actually it is a link! I’ll go now and stop cluttering up your comments…

  8. disgruntled says:

    I’ll have to wait until our rural broad band is up to a video clip. But I think I know the one you mean

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.