Darn Tooting

I suppose it’s a sign of how sheltered a life I lead these days that ‘car driver hoots at cyclist’ counts as news. But that’s what happened (and besides, it was this or a post consisting of me moaning about the rain again, and nobody wants that). I had just turned onto Big A Road to get out of Papershop Village and the car coming up behind me – which was towing a caravan, I might add – decided I should get out of his way because I was holding him up. Now he decided to sound the horn just as I came up to the bus stop lay by where I normally pull in a little to let anyone who’s behind pass me, because I’m polite that way and because I prefer to have the imaptient drivers ahead of me instead of breathing fire up my tail. Naturally, once Mr Caravan Tower had let me know that he was there and important and in a hurry, I decided that, perhaps, I wouldn’t pull in after all. In fact, now might be an excellent time to take the primary position, just in case anyone was about to pull out of the side road or emerge unexpectedly from one of the houses. Funnily enough he then discovered that he could overtake me after all without sending me into the gutter, by going over to the other side of the road, and he roared away, sending the postman who (poor sod) has to cross Big A Road twice to deliver Papershop Village’s post, scuttling for the safety of the pavement.

I looked at the postman as I passed and gave him a look that said ‘what was all that about then?’ and he gave me a look that said ‘search me’ and we went on our separate ways reflecting that it takes hypocrisy of a certain monumental scale for a caravan driver to complain about being held up by something slower on the road.

And it is STILL raining.

8 Responses to Darn Tooting

  1. Amaranthine says:

    One wonders where he could be going in such a hurry with a caravan. Surely the point of the things is for holidays?

  2. Good for you for taking the primary position. Funnily enough I have the same reaction.

    I begin to feel it’s less that we are objectively slowing them down for several real, measurable seconds, but that they feel we are infringing on the Sacred Driving Space which is theirs by right to drive on nice and fast.

    Or maybe he was miserable because he’d just driven 482 hours from The South and it had rained the whole week while he was in his caravan.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Amaranthine – home, I imagine!
    Andy – you know, I hadn’t thought of that aspect of it! Poor sod…

  4. emma c says:

    ha ha! love the image! what a rude driver ..

  5. Nick says:

    Are you sure you haven’t misunderstood? After all he may actually have been hooting in appreciation of your… well, use your imagination!

  6. disgruntled says:

    Emma – thanks. Sadly, it barely counts as rude in most places
    Nick – much as I’d like to think that it was in appreciation of my assets, he was driving with his wife and his face wasn’t exactly appreciative as he passed.

  7. […] starts a campaign to give Scot children more space to ride to school. Even in rural Scotland, cyclists get honked at by drivers who could easily pass. British design and Chinese manufacturing — as if any western country […]

  8. WOL says:

    O tempora, o mores!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.