I’m Not Convinced…

X95: where every journey is an adventure

…That as bus route straplines go (and since when did bus routes start having their own straplines?), ‘Where every journey is an adventure’ is precisely what I want out of a bus journey, but that may be why I’m not in bus marketing.

brompton on bus

Fortunately there were no unexpected adventures for the Brompton and me as we made our way multimodally from Duns to home. By car this is a 2.5 hour drive, 3 hours if you stop for coffee in Moffat. By public transport this meant a 45 minute drive to Galashiels, 2 hour bus ride to Carlisle, 40 minute wait, 45 minute train journey to Bigtown and a 45 minute cycle home (OK, so maybe that was a bit of an adventure).

Still it made for excellent progress on my sock, which has been sadly hampered by my failure to get selected for jury service earlier this month.

sock progress

Knitting: Turning every inconvenience into a sock

5 Responses to I’m Not Convinced…

  1. Charles says:

    I have never seen live sockmanship before, very impressive. I really hate apple auto correct, you nearly ended up with stockmanship which would not have made much sense. All the best from Charles in Somerset.

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    I dunno, when we lived in the West Country the local bus company had all manner of converted transit rattletraps that you were not sure would make it to the next stop without something exciting happening like a wheel falling off. It could easily have been ther slogan, and quite accurate.

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Charles – socks are actually pretty easy to knit … (Hope you’re enjoying Somerset)
    @Andy – I’ve no doubt it would be accurate – but would it make you want to take the bus?

  4. Christine says:

    Public transport’s great for sock knitting, but I’m hoping that having a hip replacement will give me time to do some serious yarn crafting too. This has so far been the summer of the crocheted blanket, and looks as if that may well continue!

  5. disgruntled says:

    Now crocheting *is* complicated …

Leave a Reply

